Important note: if you upgrade to a 'Premium subscription' during the free trial, then the free trial period will end immediately and you will be charged a subscription fee.
Why am I now on a free trial?
When you sign up for a Cookiebot account and add your domain(s) the following will happen:
- The Cookiebot subscription always - by default - starts as a 'free subscription' with limited functionality.
- When you add your domain(s), the scanner will shortly after start scanning the domain(s) in-depth to look for cookies and trackers in use on the website(s). In this process, the scanner will also determine the number of subpages:
If the scanner finds 100 subpages or less and only one domain, the domain will automatically continue on a free subscription with limited functionality. You can always upgrade to a premium subscription if you would like to add more domains or would like access to the full functionality.
If the scanner finds more than 100 subpages (so it no longer qualifies for the 'Free subscription') then the subscription will automatically be converted to a 1-month free trial with full functionality and an email will be sent to you to inform about this. During this month, you can use Cookiebot and you will have access to the same functionality as if you had been on a premium subscription. If you cancel your account during the 1-month free trial period, there will be no cost to you.
Please note that during the 1-month trial period, the scan report, the cookies identified and the cookies blocked are based on a partial scan of your website of (up to) 200 pages. This is the number of pages that the scanner analyzed when it determined that your site had more than 100 pages. If you have more than 200 pages on your website and would like a full scan of your entire website, please upgrade to a premium subscription.
If you are unsure how many subpages your website has, you can order a free quote.
- If you want to continue using Cookiebot after the trial period, then you will need to add your payment information:
If you don't add the payment information before the trial expires, then the Cookiebot scripts will stop working and no further scans will be performed. When you log in to your Cookiebot account, you will see a 'payment information' page that you cannot get past until the payment info has been added. After you enter the payment information, everything will work again as normally and you will have a Premium subscription for your domain(s).
If you upgrade to a 'Premium subscription' before the 1-month trial period is over and add your payment information, then the free trial period will end immediately. Your subscription(s) will immediately be converted to a Premium subscription and you will be invoiced for this (monthly in arrears by default unless you choose to pay yearly in advance instead).
Will the scripts change when the free trial becomes a paid subscription?
The scripts will not change when you go from a free trial to a paid subscription so you will not need to make any updates to the scripts.
The scripts will stop working when the trial period is over (if you have not added payment information) but if/when you enter your payment information, the same scripts will work again.
Will my users be able to see that I use a free trial?
It will not be visible to your users that you are on a free trial. This will not be marked on the cookie consent banner or anywhere else.