Cookiebot implemented with GTM not working with multiple domains

Comments

5 comments

  • Hi Mathias,

    Thank you for your question. This behavior of the bulk consent was actually a bug and it has now been resolved. 
    However, please note that bulk consent will only work, if the user accepts preference cookies so in the scenario where the customer only accepts marketing cookies, the user will be asked for consent on both sites.

    For more information about bulk consent please check the following articles and do not hesitate to ask if you have any further questions: https://support.cookiebot.com/hc/en-us/sections/360000834594-Bulk-Consent

    Regards,
    Spas 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Mathias Marrillet

    Hello, 

    The problem is not solved yet :(
    On www; I try this 
     
    But On www2, Cookie Bot pop-in come back again...(I filled "preferences before)...I thought the configuration would be the same
     
     
    Finally if i'm come back to www
     
     
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Mathias,

    When inspecting your domain everything seems to work just fine. The bulk consent works when as it should be.
    Could you please test your domain again but also make sure that you are testing it from a browser in incognito mode to avoid any caching from previous testing. You could also clear all cache of your browser in order to make sure that this is not a cache issue.

    Regards,
    Spas 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Gergely Kantor

    Hi Spas,

     

    We are facing a similar issue, which we are trying to resolve. (I'm hoping to add to the thread, not to post a different question.)

     

    We have two subdomains in one Cookiebot (paid) account, and we have bulk consent enabled. What we experience is similar: if marketing and/or statistics cookies are disabled, then consent dialog is not shown on the other domain, than the one the user had seen first. If all cookies are disabled, then the dialog keeps opening once the subdomain is changed. Based on the relevant support article (Does Bulk Consent work for all website users?), we are thinking about changing the setting of CookieConsentBulkTicket cookie from preferences (default) to necessary, to prevent this behavior. A few questions to this:

    • Can we expect this to solve our issue, and prevent bulk consent cookie from being deleted?
    • Can we expect any side effects, like forcing all previous users having to see and accept the cookie consent again?
    • Should we also set the setting of CookieConsentBulkSetting-# cookie to necessary to have it kept, or does this serve different purpose? (This article suggests to do it, but it's not clear enough: Does Bulk Consent result in any cookies being set?

     

    Thanks,

    Gergely

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Gergely,

    This issue has been resolved.
    The consent dialog will popup on both websites, if the visitor does not accept "preference cookies". Once consent it changed on either sites, the consent on the other will automatically update on the next visit.
    In order for this to work properly CookieConsentBulkTicket and CookieConsentBulkSetting-# must both be classified as preference cookies and it will not change the behavior by changing category.
    Hope this will answer your questions. 

    Regards,
    Spas

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.